The Loveless Romancer

Here’s a random poem I typed up one time (may not have been sober) but recently re-did. I never really thought I was a great poet, but here’s my attempt at Shakespeare:

Cupid’s arrow spread the skies

And struck me square between the eyes

Its poison slipped into my veins

By name of love’s accursed rains

And bled my heart to ribbons

Arrow dipped in love’s veneer

That wretched shape of spades

Would win my lover’s deep revere

On which mine hopes were made

But I was passion’s fool

Awaiting fate most cruel

Of love’s return a million years

Had passed before my fears

For she who I had mad pursued

Forsook me into solitude

She love me not and never once

Her peers and all agree.

While love shall siren me

To death on stones in rivers white

To driftwood splinters cold as night

I lay there broken, bones a-stretch

And heart still beating through the flesh

While spaded arrows strike me down

With unrequited lover’s crown

The voice of Aphrodite’s cry

And wistful sounds of searching

Will find her never far or nigh

About achavers22

I am a young writer: very ambitious and always trying to come up with new ideas, while working with the ones I have. I really love sci-fi, fantasy, and any type of fiction. And I'm a huge movie lover so you may see me posting impassioned reviews of films I've watched. And I love to read in my spare time (classics, history, fiction, etc.). Reading really helps me to sharpen my writing skills. Other than that I'm usually on my iPod, laptop, plumbing through 70s music. Disclaimer: my blog does not take credit for pictures that appear in posts. If you are the owner of any of the images and do not wish them to be posted here please let me know via email: a1chavers@gmail.com
This entry was posted in My Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

